Inside the vote to defeat Greene’s effort to oust Johnson from the speakership

Almost all House Republicans joined with Democrats to table an effort by Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) to oust Speaker Mike Johnson from his position.

The final tally: The vote was 359-43, with seven members voting present. Twenty-one members did not vote.

The yeses: The bulk of both parties voted to table and dispense with the challenge to Johnson’s leadership. 163 Democrats joined 193 Republicans in support of tabling Greene’s effort.

The nos: Just 11 GOP members opposed tabling the move, as did 32 Democrats.

Those Republicans opposed were Reps. Greene, Thomas Massie (Ky.), Warren Davidson (Ohio), Chip Roy (Texas), Eli Crane (Ariz.), Eric Burlison (Mo.), Alex Mooney (W.Va.), Barry Moore (Ala.), Victoria Spartz (Ind.), Paul Gosar (Ariz.) and Andy Biggs (Ariz.).

The presents: Seven Democrats — Reps. Mark Pocan (Wis.), Jan Schakowsky (Ill.), Norma Torres (Calif.), Chuy García (Ill.), Ilhan Omar (Minn.), Judy Chu (Calif.) and Mark Takano (Calif.) — voted present on the motion.

Daniella Diaz contributed to this report.